CSC essay contest winners tackle gender equity

A forester, a legislative staff, and a project evaluation officer proved to be writers and gender equity advocates in their own right when they won the Civil Service Commission’s (CSC) Essay Writing Contest.

Besting 204 other contestants, the first place winner is Marlyn B. Delos Arcos (Forester I, Department of Environment and Natural Resources CENRO Tandag, Surigao del Sur), followed by Joselito Narciso B. Capariño, (Legislative Staff Assistant II, House of Representatives, Quezon City), and Herita O. Macarubbo (Project Evaluation Officer II, Commission on Population, Tuguegarao City), in second and third place, respectively.

Done in celebration of the 112th Philippine Civil Service Anniversary (PCSA), the contest was themed “Lingkod Bayani Working for Gender Responsive, Accessible, Courteous, and Effective Public Service.” It aims to bring the attention of civil servants to government’s crucial role in addressing issues relating to gender.

In her essay “Active Participation, Not Just Attendance,” Arcos discusses women’s participation in a male-dominated environment. She relays her experiences in the field, and how she saw the potential of women in contributing to environmental and socio-economic development in the community level.

Capariño’s essay, “Ang Lingkod Bayani sa Pagsusulong ng Isang Gender Responsive, Accessible, Courteous, at Effective na Serbisyo Publiko,” is the only winning entry in Filipino. He focuses on the concept of equality in public service, and how it is every state worker’s obligation to ensure fair treatment of people, regardless of gender.

Macarubbo, on the other hand, opted to explore strategies by which to eliminate gender-based discrimination in the way public service is rendered. Her essay, “Making Public Service Gender Responsive a Reality,” presents gender sensitivity as an essential factor towards becoming a true servant-hero.

Stella Eloisa Marquez-Fong, Development Alternatives with Women for New Era (DAWN) Global Secretariat Program and Administrative Officer; Ma. Lourdes Veneracion Rallonza, Ateneo de Manila University Department of Political Science faculty member; Ricardo L. Saludo, former CSC Chairperson; and Rolando B. Tolentino, University of the Philippines College of Mass Communication Dean comprised the board of judges.

Winners received plaques and cash prizes worth P30,000, P20,000, and P15,000 for the first, second, and third place, respectively. This is the second year that the CSC held the PCSA essay writing contest. You may check out the winning entry on the official PCSA blog,

CSC Press Release
Sept. 20, 2012


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s